A 2021 backup has been restored. Forums are closed and work in progress. Join our Discord server for more updates! ×
SoaH City Message Board

Sonic Small World

Core

UPDATE:

Latest version (beta 0.6, released on 6th August 2012):

Website

Download link

(original post below)

------------------------------------------------------------

Hello everyone, I'm new here.

I'm a hobbyist C programmer who have mostly been making model viewers and

. Three months ago, I decided to try and make a Sonic fangame.

"Sonic Small World" is a simple, unfinished 3D Sonic fangame. It features basic movement with jump and rolling, Spin Dash, Insta-Shield, basic items, and enemies.

You can download the latest demo (alpha 0.1.1) here:

http://www.sendspace.com/file/m7mttg

(12.3 MB, for 32-bit Windows)

Screenshots:

th_s1.png th_s2.png th_s3.png th_s4.png

The demo features a (very small) test level. As you can see on the screenshots, it is basically made of two parts: the first part uses bland checkered textures, but features several curves and slopes to play around, while the second part is prettier (it uses models and textures from Sonic Colors's Planet Wisp), but doesn't have curves.

Ideally, I aspire to make levels full of curves and loops, but with the graphics of the second part.

(Note: most of the curves and surfaces can only be seen from one side, and only have collision on one side, so it may be confusing at first.)

Controls (the keys can be configured in the Setup program):

- arrow keys to move

- Shift to jump / perform Insta-Shield (during a jump)

- Spacebar to roll/unroll (when moving) / charge Spin Dash (when standing still)

- 'C' key to center the camera. Hold the 'C' key and use the arrow keys to move the camera

You can also use a controller.

If the game runs too slowly on your computer, try changing the clipping distance in the Setup program.