A 2021 backup has been restored. Forums are closed and work in progress. Join our Discord server for more updates! ×
SoaH City Message Board

360 degrees, essential?

Syonic

hi guys , just wondering as recently im kinda still new to MMF2

I've just figured out slopes now, but the lazy way..just to give me an idea of how it functions.

though my question is, Is a 360 degrees engine Essential to make a good sonic game?

cheers :)

You can make a great game without a 360 engine, but you can't make a Sonic game.

Depends on what you believe to be a Sonic game. Sonic Team seems to be convinced that their hero does just fine without loops. Loops that the player can control anyway. In my opinion, Sonic is just an average platformer with racing elements applied. The loops don't make the game. They just improve the experience if they are pulled off correctly.

Here we go with the loop bullsh*t. Gawd.

Sonic Team seems to be convinced that their hero does just fine without loops. Loops that the player can control anyway.

Wrong.

sonic-advance-1_gba.jpg

sonic-advance-2_gba.jpg

sonic-advance-3_gba.jpg

sonic%20rush%20DS%20BOX_main.jpg

No more talk of this loop crap, before somebody who's all defensive about it shows up and de-rails the thread with caps and ____s.

My suggestion is to start with regular static, then work on 360. 360 can be a huge pain to understand if you don't have a good grasp on how static works. When you fail to understand how the engine works, it's harder to implement features and moves that you want. Take small bites, don't just jump into the big stuff, it'll only result in a headache.

Go from first gear to third gear, you say? Meh, not too unusual, but I still suggest geting some trig and slope experience before moving to 360. That is, if you are to understand the concepts and not merely copy them (not that that's a bad thing, but you might as well use another engine, then). Unless you're already quite good at trig.