A 2021 backup has been restored. Forums are closed and work in progress. Join our Discord server for more updates! ×
SoaH City Message Board

Cave Story anyone?

tentril

So, that freeware game thats a super awesome Metroid/Castlevania kind of thing is now a WiiWare game. Twelve dollars for the same game I've been playing for like three years, but they added a hard mode, boss rush, and time attack for the secret last level.

They also redid the music and graphics. A lot of its nice, but a few of the songs were changed in odd ways, and a few of the characters look strange with the added detail.

http://www.cavestory.com/

http://www.nicalis.com/blog/

Its still available for free download if you haven't played it and haven't heard how much it deserves to be purchased.

tl;dr Cave Story came out with a few new modes and new graphics/music. Anyone else get it?

Beat it last year on PC.

Honestly, its the best videogame ive played in years, and i do mean years. I rarely can force myself to play through a game twice back to back, but ive beaten cavestory three times already. Only game ive been able to do that with recently has been BoF Dragon Quarter, RE4 and the PSO series. And of course sonic.

Ive been looking at the Wii remake...honestly, whoever they got to remix the music is incompetent as all hell and needs to promptly retire his horrible career. Its absolutely horrible. Do NOT give the new soundtrack a chance, honestly i cant even believe they released it. If they give you the option, from the start of the game just play through entirely with the original, because the music in that game was actually very memorable.

They do have the option, and I agree with you for the most part, but I figured I would have new music my first play through. A few of the songs are still as good as the originals, just in a different way. After this, I'm going to switch to original music though.

Beat it last year on PC.