A 2021 backup has been restored. Forums are closed and work in progress. Join our Discord server for more updates! ×
SoaH City Message Board

Implementing Time Travel into the engine

I'm having a real hard time with this. First off, I'm completely new to MMF so I can't really say I expected it to be any easier than this. What I basically have done is take this engine here...

http://www.sonicfangameshq.com/forum/showthread.php?t=4291&highlight=time+travel

..and just copy-paste it into sonic worlds. I then replaced the "sensor" object with that for the player in Sonic worlds, and then imported all counters that tutorial had. So far, I can pass a sign and it will spin. That's the furthest I got, as it's a simple process that doesn't rely on a bunch of other values and stuff that are already in the engine. Obviously I'm way over my head here as it's proving too much for me to get how to find what objects and values need to be changed to use what the Worlds engine has already, not new things that mean nothing that I just pasted from that time travel tutorial.

I've probably chosen a naive way of approaching the implementation of this gimmick, but it's something I'd really like to have for this engine. Basically what this post is trying to say is, does anyone know how to port that engine properly into Worlds, or has anyone already made their own system for the Worlds engine?

Just copy all the variables related to the player, such as FloatX, FloatY, Speed, etc, as well as stuff like the Timer values, Rings, etc, and restore said variables in the frame for the other time zone.

Vague, I know, but I'm just typing this up with a vague memory of the engine, so yeah. Also, this is just a general idea of time travel, so it should work in any engine.