A 2021 backup has been restored. Forums are closed and work in progress. Join our Discord server for more updates! ×
SoaH City Message Board

A heads up regarding the status of my projects

BlazeHedgehog

tldr: Harddrive go boom, lost a ton of data. If I cannot recover the data, almost every project I've been working on for the last 3 years is canceled and I'm forced to start fresh from square 1 on pretty much everything.

-------------------------------------------------------------------

If you were looking forward to:

- Castlevania: Ballad of Autumn

- Shadow of Chaos

- Sonic 2k6 2D Final Version

Chances are I have lost all of the data for these games forever. Most recently, my cousin discovered he had an excess of spare computer parts and offered them to me as long as I bought a motherboard to support them. After plugging everything in, my old HDD moaned about the new hardware. I expected this.

We tried to re-install Windows and it wouldn't take - being a new mobo, I didn't know how to operate it well enough and it was having trouble booting from CDs. It would refuse to boot from the DVDROM and would instead try to boot from a failing CDRW, which wouldn't read the disc. It wasn't until a week later I found the option to force it to boot from the DVDROM first.

He took my HDD home with the intent of erasing C:\ and re-installing Windows which caused a bizarre cascading harddrive failure; his Windows disc seemed to be causing the problem, so he got a new one. After finally doing everything correctly, my HDD began bitching about something else:

"ERROR: Direct Drive Overlay not loaded."