A 2021 backup has been restored. Forums are closed and work in progress. Join our Discord server for more updates! ×
SoaH City Message Board

Wall Kick [MMF2/Sonic Worlds]

Xeric

I hope i'm posting this in the right place..

Hey there! I'm new to the community and looking for some assitance reguarding my fan game. I've been working on my game project:MIGHTY for some time now using Game maker but recently aquired a copy of MMF2 through my college so im in the process of porting everything over to Sonic Worlds. It used to be a rom hack but decided aganist it due to limitations.

rayprojectmighty.png

Here's a poor screenshot to actually show something. All i've really done so far is play with the art.

Anyway, i'm a pixel artist/spriter at heart so I don't have the foggiest where to start.

Basically, i'm requiring the Wall Kick manovuer that Mighty does in Knuckles Chaotix for.. well, Mighty. The Sonic Dash+ engine I was originally using had it so it wasn't a problem, but Sonic Worlds lacks it.

I was wondering if anyone could help me out? Of course i'll try to repay you some how, with sprite help or something.

I'm unsure of the etiquette here so hopefully i'm not out of line for asking for help with this.

I'd encourage you to try to figure out how to solve the actual programming for this problem on your own, but I'll give you some tips... as well as a warning about the wall kick from a level design standpoint.

First, Sonic Worlds handles actions in states. There are states that exist for actions ranging from jumping to running normally to hanging from bars grafted into the ceiling. Understanding states is a core concept that is basically necessary for adding most special moves and certain gimmicks to the engine.