A 2021 backup has been restored. Forums are closed and work in progress. Join our Discord server for more updates! ×
SoaH City Message Board

MMF2 as opposed to RPG Maker for making RPGs

Cyber Rat

So, the thread title pretty much sums up my question. If I were to make your standard JRPG-styled game, would I have to go with MMF2, or with RPG maker. I know how Clickteam's products work, but I have no experience whatsoever with RPG maker, so could someone just give me a basic rundown of the pros and cons of using either program for the sake of making an JRPG-styled game?

Personally, I wouldn't touch RPG Maker with a 10 foot pole. And MMF is a pain in the ass for any kind of stat tracking and building that requires a massive amount of repetition...

I think you'd be better off with Game Maker than either of those other two, but if you really want to go somewhere with an RPG, it's a good time to start learning some real programming.

• Like 1

Well, it's probably not exactly a JRPG maker, but I know a pretty good engine to use. It's called Xtremeworlds.

It's a top-view MMORPG engine. If ya want, I can PM some screenshots of a game I know that's made from it. If ya don't want this information...that's explanatory.

Using GM, with time you can got tired or bored or whatever that makes you stop making the game.

I used rpg maker for a long time before using GM and I can say if you want to make an rpg, GM will bring you a lot of work that in RPG maker is done yet.

An example of this is the big number of variables you will need to set that in RPG Maker interface are well organized and you will not got lost.

And for making scenes, in rpg maker setting up an event you can create a nice one while in GM you have to "infeste" an object with alarms.

Also, you can draw maps so much faster than you can in GM.

RPG Maker includes awesome art with it too.

If you want I can show you a list of more RPGMaker pros.