A 2021 backup has been restored. Forums are closed and work in progress. Join our Discord server for more updates! ×
SoaH City Message Board

180 change in opinion.

Nemox

Hey Sonic United, I was recently informed of the merger with SFGHQ, so I thought I'd open up with a little intro and a topic regarding a recent purchase.

I'm an indie game dev in training and planning to get a project underway once I get a couple artists to work with me.  I've been experimenting and such with game development via Sonic fangame testing, but unfortunately I've lost all my work.  I'll be starting from scratch soon, and everything I'm using in one of my games will be usable in my fangames as well.  So here's to fresh beginnings!

In the vain of new experiences, I recently bought Sonic Unleasehd as a learning experience to see how not to make a game.  I remembered that the uber-mach-speed-on-rails gameplay was not to my liking, nor the slow pace of the nighttime stages.

But after playing it again, I've fallen in love with it.  I don't know why I disliked it so much before.  Probably because I had the Wii version before, and I'm playing the 360 version now.

I love adventure and roaming free.  That's why my favourite Sonic game of all time is Adventure 1.  So much more open space to roam than other games.  Actually, I found this aspect to be a really redeeming factor about Sonic Osix.  It may have been terrible, but it had freedom.

Unleashed isn't quite as expansive in this regard as I'd like, but it's enough.  I particularly like the low-speed controls a lot more than Generations.  Generations felt like controlling a bike or something at low speeds, while Unleashed feels much tighter.

So Sonic United, what Sonic experiences have made you change your opinions?  What's your ideal experience?

The thing I find with things like SA1, Unleashed and '06 is that the open world is generally kind of surreal.